The legal definition of commercial DUI in Las Vegas says it is a crime for anyone with a blood alcohol content of 0.04 or higher "to drive or be in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle on a highway or on premises to which the public has access." Truck drivers in Las Vegas, North Las Vegas and Henderson are subject to stricter DUI laws than non-commercial drivers: penalties may include lifelong suREAD MORE
A DUI is normally a misdemeanor in Las Vegas Nevada, but the Nevada prosecutors will bring felony drunk driving charges in Las Vegas in two situations:
Reckless driving is a major traffic violation! Reckless driving is often defined as a mental state in which the driver displays disregard for the rules of the road. [caption id="attachment_275" align="alignright" width="300" caption="Reckless Driving"] READ MORE
Speeding is defined as travel at a speed that is greater than the legal limit. This means if you are on the freeway and the posted speed limit is 65 mph and you are going any speeding greater than 65mph a cop can pull you over for speeding. There are lots of dangers of speeding you should think about!
DWI arrests in Las Vegas will trigger two separate cases for those accused of driving while impaired. The first is the DWI case in criminal court; the second is the DMV case, where the Las Vegas DMV is empowered to suspend the driving privileges of those accused of DWI or DWAI (driving while abilities are impaired by alcohol).
Las Vegas DWIcases (also known as DUI – Driving under the Influence) can be brought under one of two theories: either violation of the DWI “per se” law (which is based only on alcohol level, not driving impairment), or under a traditional “common law” theory (where the prosecution must prove that the driver is intoxicated). Intoxication, for the purpose of Vehicle and Traffic Laws, is a condition where the motorist lacks the necessary physical and mental skills to operate a motor vehicle as a reasonable and prudent driver. Las Vegas DWI arrests based on the common law theory do not require any measurement of BAC; they may be based entirely on the opinion of the arresting officer.
DWI cases can be “aggravated” (with harsher punishment and penalties) where the BAC is .15 or more, where there is a traffic accident, refusal to take the chemical test, or any other attempt to evade police or flee the scene of a DWI accident.
Drunken driving defense is a specialized area. Let one of the qualified DUI LAWS attorneys find a solution to your legal problem if you, or someone you care about, has been arrested for DUI or DWI. Contact a Las Vegas DUI LAWS lawyer near you for a free.
DWI punishment in Las Vega swill depends upon whether the drunken driving arrest is for a misdemeanor or a felony. (A misdemeanor DWI / DUIcase is one than can be punished by up to one year in jail; a felony drunk driving arrest may be punished for more than a year in state prison.)
A first-offense Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) case is a misdemeanor. However, if there has been a prior DWI or drunk driving conviction within 10 years of the arrest, the new charge is a felony. The 10-year period is calculated from the date of conviction of the prior DWI case, through the date of arrest for the new DWI case.
DWI arrests can result in a variety of punishments; the sentence given for a drunken driving conviction will depend upon the particular DWI charge, and whether there are aggravating or mitigating factors.
If you have been arrested in Buffalo, Las Vegas or any Las Vegas city, it’s important to understand the DWI laws and penalties. Contact a Las Vegas DUI attorney now.